Indiana Traffic Laws You Should Know

indiana traffic laws

Being a good driver means knowing the rules of the road. Indiana traffic laws change and evolve all the time. Sometimes, the changes are small, but they can also be significant. What is legal one day might end up being illegal the next. 

traffic regulations

New regulations are added to the Indiana legal code to make it safer to be on the roads. These changes are intended to protect drivers, passengers, cyclists, and pedestrians alike. Indiana drivers must stay informed about regulatory changes in the state. 

After all, ignorance of a new law is not a valid excuse if you are stopped by law enforcement or if you are held responsible for causing an accident. Drivers who disregard Indiana’s evolving legislation don’t just place themselves at risk; they also endanger everyone else on the road. 

Let’s review some of the most critical changes to Indiana’s driving laws. 

New Indiana Traffic Laws

traffic laws indiana

2023 saw two significant changes to the state’s traffic statutes: an added requirement to the Move Over law and a relaxing of the laws governing turn signals. 

Changes to the Move-Over Law 

For many years, Indiana drivers have been required to “move over” to the other lane when approaching an emergency vehicle with its lights on. For example, if you come across a police car that has pulled someone over, you are to safely change lanes to avoid traveling in the lane immediately next to the pulled-over driver and officer. 

However, as of July 1, 2023, the Move Over law now applies to any disabled vehicle on the side of the road with its hazard lights on. 

What if it’s not possible to change lanes safely? If you cannot change lanes because there is not enough time or there isn’t enough room in the other lane to safely merge, then you have to slow down to at least 10 miles per hour below the posted speed limit when passing a disabled vehicle. 

What roads does this new law apply to? The new law applies to every roadway in Indiana, not just interstates and highways. 

What is the penalty for failing to move over for a disabled vehicle? Because the law is brand new, drivers may initially receive a warning instead of a fine. However, an officer can issue a fine, as well, of up to $1,000 for violating this law. 

New Turn Signal Law

On January 1, 2023, a new turn signal law went into effect, changing the requirement for when drivers have to activate their turn signals before a turn or lane change. 

The law used to state that drivers had to signal both turns and lane changes at least 200 feet in advance. If traveling at a speed of more than 50 mph, signaling needed to occur at least 300 feet in advance. 

The new law, on the other hand, eliminates the distance-specific requirements. Instead, drivers need to use turn signals at a “reasonable time” before they make their turn or lane change. 

You can now use your best judgment on when to signal, taking into consideration things like: 

  • Speed of traffic
  • Traffic conditions
  • Intersection distance

Notably, drivers are still required by law to signal before every turn and lane change. 

Indiana’s Latest Car Seat & Booster Laws

Indiana’s car seat laws in 2023 are about the same as in previous years. Still, parents and caregivers of young children have to be especially cognizant of changes to the law. It’s not just about abiding by the latest laws, but it’s also about keeping children as safe as possible when they are passengers in a car. 

We recommend staying up to date by using resources provided by child car seat specialists. 

Here are some important basics of car seat and booster seat laws in Indiana: 

  • Children under age 8 must be properly restrained in a car seat or booster seat appropriate for their height and weight.
  • Infants under 1-year-old and under 20 lbs should ride rear-facing until they reach the maximum limits for their car seat.
  • Once infants outgrow their rear-facing seat limits, they can transition to a forward-facing seat with a harness.
  • Children who outgrow their forward-facing seat should use a booster seat until at least age 8 or until seat belts fit them properly.
  • At age 8 and older, children can use regular seat belts instead of boosters if the belts fit appropriately across the child’s chest and thighs.
  • Anyone transporting a child under 8 without the proper car seat or booster can be fined up to $25.
  • Taxis are exempt from having car seats, but it’s recommended to bring your own when traveling with a young child.
  • Seats should be installed and used according to the manufacturer’s instructions for maximum safety.

Even When You’re Careful, Accidents Happen

Staying up to date on Indiana traffic laws is the responsibility of every driver, but knowledge of the law doesn’t guarantee that you won’t be injured in an accident. 

If you or someone you love has been injured because of another driver’s negligence or recklessness, you deserve compensation for those injuries and losses. Accidents cause both financial and non-economic losses, and a car accident attorney can help you get justice. 

Contact Poynter & Bucheri to speak with some of Indiana’s leading car accident attorneys.

Contact us to schedule a free, no-obligation, no-risk case review to discuss your accident and how the attorneys at Poynter & Bucheri can get you what you deserve – 1-800-265-9881.