Driving Without Insurance in Indiana: Here’s Everything You Need to Know

no insurance

Indiana law prohibits people from driving without a minimum amount of car insurance. All drivers are required to carry that minimum amount in order to be allowed on state roadways. Getting caught without insurance in Indiana will lead to stiff penalties and some pretty big fines!

Are you fully informed about the risks of driving without insurance in Indiana? Do you know whether or not you are currently up-to-date with a policy that meets the minimum requirements? If you get pulled over, are you going to get in trouble for not carrying sufficient insurance?

What are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Indiana?

Bankrate offers information about minimum car insurance requirements here in Indiana.

The policies you must carry are liability coverage, uninsured motorist coverage, and underinsured motorist coverage. According to Bankrate, these policy minimums are:

  • Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident
  • Underinsured motorist bodily injury: $50,000 per person/$50,000 per accident
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury: $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident
  • Uninsured motorist property damage: $25,000 per accident

What does each policy cover?

Bodily Injury Liability

Bodily injury liability coverage pays for other people’s medical bills, as well as lost wages if you are at fault in an auto accident. It is pretty standard for states to require this as a minimum because it protects you from being individually liable for major medical bills when an accident is shown to be your fault.

Property Damage Liability

If you cause damage to another person’s vehicle or property, that is covered by your property damage liability coverage. Sometimes, car accidents don’t just cause damage to the vehicles themselves, but also to fences, buildings, posts, etc. This is what property damage liability covers.

Importantly, this typically does not cover damage to your own vehicle. It’s about repairing property damage that you have caused to someone else’s property, not your own.

Uninsured & Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury

Even though everyone is required to carry insurance in the state of Indiana, that doesn’t mean that everyone follows the law. What happens if you are in a traffic accident and the other person doesn’t carry insurance? What if they carry substandard insurance that doesn’t meet the minimum requirements?

Uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage are the solutions to this potential crisis. These plans pay for your medical bills, and the medical expenses of your passengers, if you are in an accident that meets the following criteria:

  • The accident is caused by a driver who doesn’t carry any liability insurance
  • The accident is caused by a driver who doesn’t have enough insurance to cover the medical bills of you or your passengers
  • The accident is caused by a driver whose insurance company denies coverage
  • The accident is caused by a driver whose insurance company goes out of business

Uninsured Motorist Property Damage

This last required coverage is for what happens if someone without insurance causes damage to your car or property. Uninsured motorist property damage coverage can include the repair costs to fix your car, home, or other property.

What do Indiana Drivers Spend on Car Insurance?

On average, Indiana drivers pay $1,133 a year for their insurance. That’s actually quite a bit less than the national average, in part because many Hoosiers live in rural areas and encounter fewer drivers while on the road.

What Penalties do Indiana Drivers Face if They Drive Without Insurance?

This is a question that lots of people ask: what happens if I don’t carry these required levels of insurance coverage?

You could face these penalties if you drive without insurance in Indiana:

  • $250 reinstatement fee
  • 90 day license suspension
  • An SR 22 certificate for the next 3 years

Those are only the penalties after the first offense! A second offense can lead to:

  • $500 reinstatement fee
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 12 month vehicle registration suspension
  • SR 22 certificate for 3 more years

A third offense may result in:

  • $1000 reinstatement fee
  • 12 month license suspension
  • 12 month vehicle registration suspension
  • SR 22 certificate for 5 more years

Is It Enough to Carry Minimum Coverage?

While minimum coverage that meets the above descriptions will help you avoid legal penalties, there are still financial risks to being underinsured. Carrying only the minimum requirement may leave you with financial obligations beyond what you can afford.

Drivers can sue you for additional costs if your insurance doesn’t cover their full expenses, and that includes medical bills, property damage, and more.

Some people who carry only the minimums don’t realize that they will be left paying for all the damage to their own vehicle and property as well.

We recommend raising your limits beyond the minimum so that you are as protected as possible against the long-term results of a car accident.

Poynter & Bucheri Accident Recovery — Indianapolis Personal Injury Attorneys

If you have been in a car accident with someone whose insurance coverage is not sufficient to pay for the damages you have experienced, contact the accident recovery experts at Poynter & Bucheri. Our fee is only 25% compared to the higher 40% rates with other attorneys. We will ensure you are properly compensated for your injuries and losses.

There is no need to delay–one of our experienced attorneys can assist you right away. Call 1-800-265-9881 for a free case review.